Education Scholarship Scheme for Army Personnel (ESSA)

Share This Post

Education Scholarship Scheme for Army Personnel (ESSA) is a Scholarship Scheme initiated to promote education was introduced in 1978 and covers Serving Army Personnel wards below 25 years of age studying in recognized school/institutions across the country vide AO 16/2016/AG (under revision). ESSA scholarship, a motivating factor for wards of Serving Army Personnel is increasingly being disbursed every year at all three segments ie School, Graduation and Post Graduation level.

This scholarship is one time scholarship awarded as per cut off percentage of marks/grade under the Education Scholarship Scheme for Army Personnel (ESSA) on completion of class IX to PG level of education. The cut off percentages of marks/grade for award of scholarships to various classes and categories have been revised. Based on these cut offs, applications will be received and a merit list will be drawn for award of scholarship based on allotment of funds. However, merit certificate will be awarded to all the received applications. Policy on ESSA is also available on our website The amount of scholarship varies from Rs 1500/- to Rs 10000/- per year, depending upon the level of education. As per AO 16/2016/AG (under revision) last date of receipt of applications from the parents/guardians for ESSA is 30 Nov.


The features of this essa scheme are as follows :-

1. ESSA is a merit-based scholarship scheme.
2. Candidates of all gender, religion and state of India can apply for this scholarship.
3. 25 years is the age limit for applicants for this scholarship.
4. Scholarship is awarded from class 9th to up post-graduation level.


The eligibility criteria for the army scholarship scheme is as follows :-

1. The applicant for this Scholarship Scheme should be a ward of serving Army personnel or MNS ( Military Nursing Service ).
2. The age of the applicant for this scheme should not be more than 25 years of age at the time of completion of their course.
3. The applicant should be pursing studies from class 9th to Post Graduation Level.
4. The wards of retired Army personnel, Deceased Army personnel and Territorial Army personnel are not eligible to apply for this scheme.

Note:- Wards of Retired Army personnel, Territorial Army personnel (TA) and deceased Army personnel are not eligible.

All eligible candidates will receive a merit certificate. Also, the selected candidates will receive the following awards:

  1. Class 9 to 11 – INR 1,500 per annum
  2. Class 10 to 12 – INR 3,000 per annum
  3. Graduation – INR 5,000 per annum
  4. Professional/PG courses – INR 10,000 per annum


The steps to apply for the ESSA scholarship scheme are listed as below:-

Step 1: Applicants can download the application form for
Step 2: Fill in all the details in the application form.
Step 3: Attach all the required documents.
Step 4: After completing the above-mentioned steps send the application form via post to:

Army Welfare Education Society (AWES),

Education Scholarship Scheme for Army Personnel (ESSA),
Adjutant General’s Branch,
Integrated HQ of MoD (Army),
Building No 202, Shankar Vihar.
Delhi Cantt, New Delhi-110 010

Required Cut-off Percentage ESSA Scheme?

CLASS 9-1091%81%71%
CLASS 11-1290%87%72%

Once the applications are received based on cut off percentages, merit list will be drawn for award of scholarships based on allotment of funds for the present financial year.

Important Documents Required for ESSA Scheme?

The photocopies of the marksheets or certificates duly attested by the Principal or Headmaster of the applicant’s school or college need to be attached along with the application form.

Impotant Dates for ESSA Scheme

The applications should pertain to the declared results of the immediate preceding academic year between 01st Oct of the preceding year and 30th Sep of the current year (i.e, applications will be processed this year for the period from 01st Oct 2022 to 30th Sep 2023).

As per guidelines of AO 04/2021/AG/CW last date for receipt of application is 30th Nov 2023. Any change in the last date of receipt of the application beyond 30th Nov 2023 will be updated on AWES website at an appropriate stage.

FAQs for ESSA Scheme

What are the qualifying criteria for AWES scholarship?

The students who can apply for the AWES scholarship must have scored 60% in their 10+2 examination. And one must be a dependent ward of Army personnel.

What is the application mode of the AWES scholarship?

Those who are willing to apply for AWES scholarship can do so in an online mode.

How can I apply for ESSA Scholarship?

Students willing to apply for AWES scholarship can do so on the official web portal, ie, Register yourself as a new user and then follow the steps mentioned there/

- Advertisement -spot_img

Related Post